Logo - Stacked Footer Logo Flag Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

07 Aug 2019

Finalists Announced for 65th Victorian Training Awards

Victoria’s top apprentices, students, teachers, employers and training providers have made the final of the 65th Victorian Training Awards that honour the outstanding achievements of our state’s TAFE and training sector.

Minister for Training and Skills and Higher Education Gayle Tierney and Member for Southern Metropolitan Nina Taylor today visited Port Phillip Community Group to announce the 39 finalists for this year’s awards, who have been selected across 14 categories.

The Awards to take place in September, have 14 categories including six for individuals, two for employers, four for training organisations as well as an Industry Collaboration Award and the Lynne Kosky Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement. Winners will receive $5000 in prize money.

Port Phillip Community Group is in the running for the Community Training Provider of the Year for its contribution towards providing education support to people from a range of backgrounds, including those from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, and those facing disadvantage.

Female finalists have also dominated the individual award categories, with women making up more than 70 per cent of individual finalists across all categories.

This includes apprentice of the Year finalist Amber Gabelich, who won a bronze medal at the 2018 WorldSkills Australia National Championships for spray painting. Ms Gabelich who is undertaking Automotive Refinishing Technology at Kangan Institute, is travelling to the United States later this year on an industry-led scholarship.

Selected winners will have the opportunity to represent Victoria at the Australian Training Awards in Brisbane in November. Victorian TAFEs have won the coveted Australian Large Training Provider of the Year Award for the last three years, demonstrating restored confidence in the sector to deliver quality training.

The Awards have evolved from their early days recognising male-dominated apprenticeship trades in the 1950s to a proudly inclusive event that celebrates excellence in Victoria’s diverse and world-class training system.

Since 2015, the Andrews Labor Government has invested more than $1.3 billion to rebuild our TAFE system and ensure students can get the skills they need for the jobs they want.

“The Victorian Training Awards don’t just celebrate success—they inspire it. I want to congratulate every student, employer and training provider who have made the Finals, we’re really proud of the work you have done.”

—Minister for Training and Skills and Higher Education Gayle Tierney

“These awards, now in their 65th year, put Victoria’s top vocational education and training performers in the spotlight and it’s fantastic to see so many women making the finals in this year’s awards.”

—Minister for Training and Skills and Higher Education Gayle Tierney

“In stark contrast to the Liberals who to the axe to the training sector, our record investment in TAFE and Adult Community Education is ensuring that apprentices and trainees, can get the skills they need for the job they want.”

—Minister for Training and Skills and Higher Education Gayle Tierney

“It’s great to see training providers such as Port Phillip Community Group being recognised for the great job they do in supporting locals get the training they need.”

—Member for Southern Metropolitan Nina Taylor


2019 Victorian Training Awards Finalists

The Apprenticeship Employment Network and Global Apprenticeship Network are the Principal Partners of the Victorian Training Awards.

Apprentice of the Year

  • Daniel Fortune
  • Amber Gabelich
  • Jake Carter

Trainee of the Year

  • Daniela Feldman
  • Maddison Lyall
  • Nebewiya Ibrahim

Vocational Student of the Year

  • Rachel Hilder
  • Jacob Champion
  • Jordan Gradon

School-based Apprentice or Trainee of the Year

  • Heidi Liesel Rasmussen
  • Connor Carter
  • Paige Mountford

Koorie Student of the Year

  • Nicole Perkins
  • Renee Wandin
  • Tanya McDonald

Teacher/Trainer of the Year

  • Roeland Trietsch – Melbourne Polytechnic
  • Brenda Fithall – Federation University Australia
  • Jodi Rechsteiner-Sanders – GOTAFE

Large Training Provider of the Year

  • Sunraysia Institute of TAFE
  • Box Hill Institute
  • Swinburne University of Technology

Employer Award for Apprenticeship Development

  • Seymour Health
  • ANCA Apprenticeship Program
  • Mambourin Enterprises

Large Employer of the Year

  • Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority
  • Select Harvests Almond Tailored Pathways Model
  • Victoria Power Networks Pty Ltd

Industry Collaboration Award

  • Beon Energy Solution
  • Homesglen / Royal Children’s Hospital Collaboration
  • Regional Industry Sector Employment Program (RISE)

Community Training Provider of the Year

  • Cire Services
  • Paynesville Neighbourhood Centre
  • Port Phillip Community Group

Small Training Provider of the Year

  • genU Training (Karingal St Laurence Ltd)
  • Ringwood Training
  • NECA Education & Careers Ltd

Inclusive Training Provider of the Year

  • Box Hill Institute
  • Melbourne Polytechnic
  • Victoria University Polytechnic
Back to news